Looking Back to Move Forward

The best way to move forward is to look back. And part of our practice as Paulines is to spend the last day of the year in silent recollection to review the year that is ending and prepare for the coming year. Looking back, I found this May 31, 2020 journal entry which colored my 2020. I’m sharing this with you as an invitation to look back and see the Lord’s surprises in your life the past year.

“The love of God has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit.” (Rom. 5:5) As I meditated on this Scripture passage that day, I heard Jesus say, borrowing the beginning of Elizabeth Barrett Browning’s Sonnet 43:

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.

I love thee in the heady fragrance of Dama de Noche as it wafts through your window in the early morning light.

I love you in the cock crowing at dawn while his hens cackle fresh eggs for breakfast.

I love you in the afternoon showers freshening the earth as it laughs in flowers in an array of color, shades and scents.

I love you in the moonlit and star-filled nights as you pray the rosary in the garden.

I love you in the trees heavy with fruits for your delight: papaya, mango, kamias, etc.

I love you with every doorbell announcing the poor who asks for help, or a donor laden with gifts aplenty: eggs, vegetables, meat, fish, rice, fruits, bread, and even face masks and face shields.

I love you in the Cordillera farmers sharing fruits, root crops and vegetables for you and the chickens.

I love you in the lone TV channel you get for news updates, and in Facebook and YouTube.

I love you in your sisters outdoing each other in generosity and service: gardening, sewing, cooking, cleaning up.

I love you in each smile, each greeting, and each silent prayer as you accept individual quirks and differences with patience and equanimity.

I love you in every priest who celebrates the online mass, and in the Redemptorists Fathers who break the Bread with you.

I love you in the quiet moments of prayer as you face uncertainties with hope and joy.

I love you in the Blessed Sacrament – always waiting, ready to listen and to dispense grace.

I love you in many different ways and would do anything to let you know:
I am with you always, no matter what happens; wherever you are or may be.
I am with you, flooding your life with love, and peace, and joy.
Do not be afraid. I am here to stay
.

Friends, we survived the challenges of 2020 and witnessed how the Lord blessed, loved, and sustained us throughout the year. Let us thank the Lord and welcome the New Year with faith, hope and confidence.

Happy New Year 2021!

About rosefsp

I am a religious sister (yes, a nun!) from the Daughters of St Paul whose mission is to share the Good News. I love to read, write and take photos.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Looking Back to Move Forward

  1. clemencia mallete says:

    Thank you very much. Nakakabagbag damdamin naman

    Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

  2. mLwFSP says:

    Very beautiful, Sr Rose!!!
    Stay safe and well!
    Always grateful,for your time here.
    emeL

Leave a comment