When was the last time you told someone about Jesus?

jeep

Jeepneys are the most popular means of public transportation in the Philippines. They are known for their crowded seating and flamboyant decorations, which have become a ubiquitous symbol of Philippine culture and art. (cf. Wikipedia)

How often do you ask yourself the above question?

Do you, ever?

I must admit that even though this is supposed to be my job description, I somehow miss to make it as a daily intentioned and concrete choice.

This morning, I left the convent after Mass for a meeting, my mind focused on the agenda. I took a jeepney and sat beside a 5-year-old girl who was with her grandmother. We chatted and I asked if she’s been to Mass. She looked at me. Her face a question mark.

Hmm… How do I tell her what the Mass is? OK. “Do you know Jesus?” I asked.

The same look.

Oh dear! What shall I say?

I looked at her and her eyes seemed to say, “Tell me more, please!”

So I told her about Jesus and how he loves her. That he is God. That he lives in her and in everything. And that she can speak to him and he will listen. And that it is his birthday on Christmas, that is why we celebrate it. This made her smile, and I saw a front tooth missing.

I had to get off the jeep and take another one to my destination. I hugged the little girl goodbye and said a silent prayer that she’ll get to know Jesus more.

As I got on the second jeepney, a family greeted me and immediately started conversation. While we waited for other passengers I learned that the 9-year-old girl is the daughter of the couple and that the two boys are her cousins. They are on their way to a shopping mall because it’s her birthday. They’ll go to Mass later in the day.

The jeepney starts to move and the kids tell me their names. They all want to be chefs but have never tried boiling water or cooking anything. It’s amazing how friendly and how at ease they were telling their stories. We passed by their school and the 7-year-old boy says he can read.

“Have you read the Bible,” I asked? I remembered the Bible for Kids app I downloaded recently and showed it to them. Eagerly they read In the Beginning, aloud and in unison, with me coaching as they stumbled upon unfamiliar words, while we passed through the streets of Makati.

“This is really nice,” the boy said, thoroughly pleased with his reading. I encouraged them to read the Bible and to know more about God. Then I had to alight from the jeepney and proceed to our meeting place.

I had a fruitful and inspiring meeting, thanks Ms D, and also for the treat.

It is only now while I ponder about this day that I remembered what happened this morning and realized how replete with opportunities is daily life to witness to Jesus. He can use people who are preoccupied with other things (like me) to say a few words about him and share his Word even on a jeepney. It just shows he is the One in charge. Imagine what he can do if we were fully conscious and attentive to his will! Who knows what will happen to those kids? Let’s say a prayer for them, shall we?

St Francis is often quoted telling his friars, “Preach the Gospel everywhere and when necessary use words.”

Have you ever experienced witnessing to Jesus without you fully realizing what was happening?

About rosefsp

I am a religious sister (yes, a nun!) from the Daughters of St Paul whose mission is to share the Good News. I love to read, write and take photos.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

